Thank You For Learning With Me

Below is a combination of emails and letters sent to Albemarle County teammates over the past month around a new and exciting professional change over the horizon this year for me. While directed at ACPS staff members, the message really applies to all of those with whom I’ve had the privilege to connect while serving various roles in the division over these past 13 years. The overall message reminds me of a post that marked the most recent previous change from classroom teacher to district administrator, and it felt important to commemorate here on the Learning to Lead Learning Blog (if nothing else than for posterity’s sake).

Teammates-

I wanted you to let you know that starting July 1st, I am taking a year’s leave from ACPS for the 2015-16 school year. It will certainly be strange not to be a direct member of the community that’s served as home over the past 13 years, but I have come across an opportunity to explore a position with another organization that feels professionally like a good fit.

There’s obviously way more to say in this kind of circumstance than any asynchronous mass media tool would allow for, so I will simply say: Thank you for learning with me. I notice that we as professionals are at our best when we engage our curious nature and allow it to drive us forward to develop new understanding about our practice, our students, and ourselves. Thank you for the time you have spent alongside me engaged in that learning process. In so many different contexts, I have learned so much from so many, and I only hope that I have been able to share at least a fraction of that energy back into our community in the work we have done together.

As far as the new opportunity goes, I will be working with Advanced Learning Partnerships, an educational consulting firm partnering with school districts engaging in a variety of different instructional initiatives. While based out of Chapel Hill, NC, the work itself will be in a variety of different districts around the country, working with leadership teams to lay out strategic roll-out plans and then implementing the job-embedded professional learning opportunities that help to bring the initiative to life. It should be pretty exciting work- certainly a change of pace, and lots of learning on all sides- though it’ll be very different from being “home” with ACPS.

All in all, the fit feels very closely aligned to my own personal mission statement as an educator on a mission to create communities of learning by connecting people, bringing shape to ideas, and seeking to understand. That’s a mission that this community of learners has helped to shape, for which I will be forever grateful.

I will still be living in the greater Charlottesville area so those locally will still have ways of touching base, though I know it  won’t necessarily be in the context of the work we might normally get into. Thank you again for the opportunity to serve you and your teammates in this capacity, and for being my teammate within the larger Albemarle community.

See you soon-

–Tony

One thought on “Thank You For Learning With Me

  1. Pingback: #ProTips From A Year On The Road | Learning to Lead Learning

Leave a Reply

